Bookmarks

Posted on Updated on

Bookmarks: wirework with polyclay beads and a lampwork bead

Last week I needed a present for my mother-in-law. She’s a wonderful mother-in-law and grandmother to my kids, so I wanted to make something special for her. As she loves to read detective novels, I decided that a bookmark would be make good gift, one with a little mystery and suspense worked in.

As I had never made a beaded bookmark before, I first made one for myself to see if it would work out fine. The one with the striped polymer beads and rainbow-colored farfalle in the chain elements now makes my reading time even more special. The bookmark featuring  one of my first lampwork beads (this one was supposed to contain a galaxy, but unfortunately the little snail forms got a little too hot, started melting and mutated into a rather marbled piece of glass. I think it’s beautiful just the same) and small hematite cubes in the chain was my mother-in-law’s birthday present.

First lampwork beads are supposed to be lucky charms, or so they say…

Leave a Reply

