Let there be glass

Posted on

It began with an unsuspicious parcel… No, that’s not quite right! It already started on the day I visited an Easter market where Dorry was exposing and selling her glass beads and jewelry. I was so fascinated that I had to buy a “face” pendant. When I checked out her blog that evening I saw that she was also holding workshops for beginners… I was hooked! As my birthday present from my parents I asked for such a workshop. The 10th of June was the big day: my first 6 hours behind a torch. Sweet bliss!

My beads from the workshop with Dorry

On the next day (the beads had cooled down in the temper oven over night) I returned to pick up my pray… and went home with not only those I had made, but even some of the beads Dorry had created to show me how it was done.

Those beads were all so lovely… I wondered what I would be able to to with a few rods of glass and a lot more practice. So, for days and days on I wandered through our home to find a place where I could safely set up a workshop.

After I had convinced  my husband that the attic would be suitable and that it was actually legal to have a bottle of propane gas at home, I ordered my starter kit.

While I waited, some of the beads found their way into this blog because they were being transformed into jewelry, but the others are still waiting to meet their destiny, harr, harr, …

Caution glass!

That’s where the parcel comes in 😉

 

It contained a torch, various tools and… this:

Glassrods aplenty

 

 

 

 

Ever since, I’ve been using that torch almost every day. Very carefully of course. (No burns so far. 😉 ) And not for too long either since my only ventilation consists in opening the window above my working table.

 

 

 

 

I have created quite a few beads since then and most even came off the mandrel (ok, the very first one I made was not so lucky…).

 

 

My favorite ones are the “half and half beads” where a transparent top is added to an ivory colored base. In fact, they are wound up on the mandrel side by side, but once they are finished I always think of the transparent color as “the top”. An air bubble trapped inside the transparent add extra interest to the moonscape within the bead.

"Half and half bead" with a trapped air bubble

Yesterday I succeeded in bringing this beauty into existence. I am so in love with this bead… Corina Tettinger’s “Passing the flame” has been a great source for information and inspiration alike.

Poked dot bead

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

