Do you want to know what I did last summer?

Posted on Updated on

It’s been a while since my last post. It took some time to have time and good weather to take pictures and even longer to edit them, but now I proudly present you: this summer’s lampwork beads. Well, those that you have not yet seen but are worth showing, minus a few that will come up soon in a special post.

Did I already mention my first bead-press? The bead above was pressed to a lentil and afterwards dotted in this spiral pattern. It’s really not easy to get the amount of glass right that needs to go into the press and I tend to forget it between two sessions…

This is the same bead!

Need proof?

Here it comes:

The little bit of pink you might see around the edges of the blue is in fact… black (Color number is Effetre 064). The Effetre black is really a very dark purple, so when it is stretched out thin enough (as is the case in the bead above) over a layer of white, it shows as pink.

Next, there is a hollow bead, with stringer decoration in a metallic purple color I especially like.

Hollow

It is unbelievable how light those hollow beads are… and so beautiful because you don’t see that channel right though the transparent bead…

Another Houdini (for my sister), a 3-dimensional Rose and my first attempt at using a twistie.

Light green Houdini

wordless:

Gray and black twisties on coloured base
strange snowflake…
Anisweiss on turquoise – the black line formed as a reaction of the heat on the white stringer

my first “trailer” – that was fun to make 🙂
bought murrinis – still needs a lot of exercise, I know
Leave a Reply

