New Year: new shawl

Posted on

Happy new year, dear readers!

My blog is now open for over a year, I have done 36 creative posts over the past year, which I hope you enjoyed and even have two constant readers of late, which I am very happy about!.

I will need to change the subtitle of my blog since “Polymer Clay, crochet and more” fit last years biggest hobbies, but I haven’t touched the Fimo for months (I always have to clean up the dinner-table after each session, which is… exhausting. Especially if you only want to try a small thing.) and my obsession with wool has moved from crochet to knitting…mostly 😉 Last year’s new and most delightful hobby was…can you guess? Exactly: Glass… *sigh*. This time last year my sewing machine was only, if ever, used to shorten pants. Now I have a stock of different fabrics and am engaged in a Poncho-project… My creative world has broadened and I am very satisfied by this.

My first post this year is about the Dibadu-X-Mas-KAL 2011. I finished it only yesterday…did I ever mention that I’m a slow knitter? 😉

I also needed a little more time to think up a different part 4 since the triangle border of the original design didn’t suit me. After days of brooding over it and trying two different approaches, I did a slightly ruffled border instead. I only steam-blocked it as there is no real lace part in it.

It was done with 2 colors of Lana Grossa Meilenweit Hermes and I have 1 whole and 2 half skeins left of this dream.

 

As you can see, the shawl is quite long and fits 2 times around my shoulders and can even be wrapped 3 times around the neck.

It’s my second try at knitting with  two colors simultaneously. As the KAL called for it in part 3 to knit in those little stars, I had to learn this quickly…

 

There are so many different ways to hold two different yarns that I needed a smaller project to find out which one would suit me best. That’s how this little sock came into being…and is now decorating our Christmas tree… yes, our (*cough* artificial) tree has not been stowed away just yet. Too many other things to do 😉

My first sock...ever!

 

3 thoughts on “New Year: new shawl

    papier&faden said:
    January 8, 2012 at 22:11

    Sehr schick und direkt etwas, das du wohl auch noch im Frühjahr über die Schultern legen kannst mit einem warmen Pullover drunter ohne eine Jacke tragen zu müssen. Das finde ich bei den meisten Schals nämlich immer sehr schade. Die kann man nur tragen, wenn es wirklich kalt ist. Den Rest es Jahres trauern sie dann im Schrank, immer in der Angst durch einen weiteren selbstgestrickten Schal ersetzt zu werden 🙂

    Mach dir übrigens keine Gedanken: Ich habe mein Bäumchen und die Tannenzweige auch erst heute entsorgt, obwohl beides schon seit Tagen abgeschmückt ist.

    (Hoffe, es ist ok, wenn ich in Deutsch schreibe, obwohl du ein englischsprachiges Blog hast. Kann bei Bedarf auch auf Englisch, wenn dir das lieber ist.)

    MacK responded:
    January 8, 2012 at 22:35

    Natürlich ist das OK wenn du auf Deutsch schreibst! Ich freue mich über jeden deiner netten Kommentare, egal auf welcher Sprache, solange ich sie verstehe 🙂
    Ja, der Schal wird eine neues Prachtstück in meiner Garderobe. Er ist sehr weich und kuschelig und anschmiegsam. *schwärm*. Ich mag die Lana Grossa Wolle einfach und diese Farben passen wunderbar zu schwarz, blau, grau, lila, türkis…also eben dem Rest meiner Garderobe. Wenn es doch bei uns im Büro nicht immer so heiss wäre 😀

    Ich lese immer noch deinen Blog durch…da gibt es viel zu sehen was ich mag!

    papier&faden said:
    January 8, 2012 at 23:01

    Wenn es doch bei uns im Büro nicht immer so heiss wäre
    Kleiner Tip: Du könntest für jeden deiner Kollegen im Büro auch so einen Schal stricken und/oder einen immer griffbereit haben für Besucher/Kunden. Dann hätte jeder den Wunsch, die Heizung runterzustellen und das Fenster zu öffnen. Dazu noch ein paar gestrickte Socken und vielleicht Stulpen für jeden, schon könntest du deinen schönen Schal auch im Büro tragen 😉

Leave a Reply

