Vancouver Fog Mitts

Posted on

PICT6239

When I can’t get to my torch, I have to do something else… this winter I knitted a lot it seems. The extend of my knitting didn’t occur to me until I reviewed the last posts: nothing to see but yarn. When the weather warms up, I’ll be back to the torch and the subjects here will shift toward glassy again Winking smile

These fingerless mittens have been finished for a few weeks as well, but I couldn’t well present them here before offering them to my dear sister. Two months ago, she got herself a new jacket. A dark pink jacket. A pink that reminded me very much of a yarn I had in stash – an idea was born.

PICT6231PICT6236

I chose the Vancouver Fog pattern on Ravelry for this pair and cast it on with 2 balls of Schoppel Zauberball Charisma working in double strand. I thought that taking 2 balls and starting each one from a different part in the color repeat would soften the color repeat and make both mitts a bit more similar – didn’t work out quite as well as I had hoped for.

No, I really can't take a picture myself with both mitts on my hands ;-)

I’m still proud to show you the result of my first cables – ever. It is a lot more time-consuming, probably especially more so because I don’t have a real cable needle and just used the sixth knitting needle of the set for working in the round.

3 thoughts on “Vancouver Fog Mitts

    Verónica said:
    February 24, 2013 at 19:17

    They look warm and those colors are fabulous.

    Lexi said:
    August 6, 2013 at 21:33

    Did you make the shorter version? Or the reg. version?

      MacK responded:
      August 7, 2013 at 21:23

      not yet… next winter maybe 😉

Leave a Reply

