TheJo keeps my camera safe

Posted on

EOS-0318

My new camera needed protection from the cruel world outside, waiting to scratch its delicate surface with its fanged, scraping surfaces, lurking to snatch the lens cap from my fingers in an inattentive moment. True, this camera bag won’t protect my dear camera from getting wet in a downpour, but I never pretended it was perfect. Winking smile

IMG_1476

The E-book tutorial for TheJo (in German only) was bought on farbenmix.de and is supposed to fit a Canon EOS 600D. I say “supposed”, because the tutorial does not mention any particular lens length – Thus, of course (Murphy insists), with my 35-135mm lens, the camera doesn’t quite fit in… at least not without stretching it as much as reasonably possible.

IMG_1479

At the moment I took this picture I wasn’t quite sure the bag would remain this way.

The green pin you see up front has since been replaced by a button. That’s the loop where the camera strap goes through so the bag stays attached when you use the camera.

 

Anyhow, I like the bag and it took care of my little camera during our last vacation just fine. The lens cap has not gone missing so far since it can be stored away safely in the flap pocket when not needed. Since the padding is red velvet, the camera can be stored inside between two pictures without the cap on.

The project was not a very hard one, but it was tough on my sewing machine since all parts (outer and lining, both) are padded. Besides I really shouldn’t have tried to sew on Velcro that I glued on minutes ago. The sewing needle was so smeared in glue that the yarn broke after 3 sides and I spent 10 minutes trying to remove the sticky paste from the needle eye.

Leave a Reply

